Texas has CAHIIM-accredited informatics and HIM degrees at UTHealth Houston and Texas State University, accredited HIM bachelor’s degrees at Texas Southern and Parker University, and more than twenty accredited community college programs leading to the RHIT. UNT, UT Southwestern, and Texas Woman’s University offer non-accredited informatics degrees, and UT Arlington and UT Tyler offer informatics MSNs for nurses.
Texas Health Informatics Programs
| School | Location | Program | Format | Estimated Tuition | Accreditation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UTHealth Houston | Houston | MS in Biomedical Informatics, Applied Track, 39 credits | Online or campus | About $10,100 in-state, $43,500 out-of-state, plus web fee | CAHIIM |
| Texas State University | San Marcos | Master of Health Information Management, 36 credits | Online | About $18,100, all residencies | CAHIIM |
| Texas State University | San Marcos | MS in Health Informatics, 30 credits | Online | About $15,100, all residencies | Not CAHIIM |
| University of North Texas | Denton | MS in Health Informatics, 36 credits | Online, campus, or hybrid | About $12,700 in-state, $28,100 out-of-state (base tuition) | Not CAHIIM |
| UT Southwestern Medical Center | Dallas | MS in Health Informatics, 36 credits | Hybrid, evening | About $24,800 in-state, $39,400 out-of-state | Not CAHIIM |
| University of Texas at Arlington | Arlington | MSN in Health Informatics, 36 credits (RNs) | Online or campus | Not clearly stated | Not stated |
| University of Texas at Tyler | Tyler | MSN, Nursing Informatics, Quality and Safety (RNs) | Online | Not clearly stated | Not stated |
| Texas State University | San Marcos | BS in Health Information Management, 120 credits | Online, hybrid, or Round Rock campus | $407 per credit | CAHIIM |
| Texas State University | San Marcos | BS in Health Informatics, 120 credits | Online | $407 per credit | Not CAHIIM |
| Texas Woman’s University | Denton | BS in Health Informatics, 120 credits | Online | About $28,600 in-state tuition | Not CAHIIM |
| Parker University | Dallas | BS in Health Information Management | Online | Not clearly stated | CAHIIM |
| Texas Southern University | Houston | BS in Health Information Management | Not clearly stated | Not clearly stated | CAHIIM |
Figures are tuition at each school’s published rates; community college programs are listed below from CAHIIM’s directory. Confirm current costs and requirements with each school.
Which Texas Program May Fit You Best?
For an Accredited Master’s
UTHealth Houston‘s applied biomedical informatics master’s can be taken fully online and includes a practicum, at about $10,100 in tuition for Texas residents. Texas State‘s online HIM master’s costs about $18,100 for students in any state and leads to the RHIA.
For a Flexible or Clinical Master’s
UNT‘s master’s lets students choose eight of twelve courses and study online, on campus, or both. UT Southwestern‘s evening program on its Dallas medical campus includes a practicum and a mentored capstone.
For a Bachelor’s
Texas State’s online HIM bachelor’s leads to the RHIA, and its health informatics bachelor’s skips clinical placements. TWU‘s online bachelor’s builds on programming and databases. Parker University and Texas Southern also hold CAHIIM accreditation for HIM bachelor’s degrees.
For the RHIT
CAHIIM lists active associate programs at Alvin College, Austin Community College, Blinn College, College of the Mainland, Collin College, Dallas College, Del Mar College, El Paso Community College, Houston Community College, Lamar Institute of Technology, Lone Star College-North Harris, McLennan Community College, Midland College, Panola College, San Jacinto College North, South Texas College, St. Philip’s College, Tarrant County College, Texas State Technical College-Abilene, Tyler Junior College, and Wharton County Junior College.
For Nurses
UT Arlington‘s 36-credit MSN includes a 6-credit informatics practicum and requires two years of RN experience. UT Tyler’s online MSN combines nursing informatics with quality and safety.
How to Compare Texas Health Informatics Programs
Residency matters at UTHealth Houston, UNT, UT Southwestern, and TWU, where nonresidents pay far more, while Texas State’s online programs charge one rate. Only UTHealth Houston and Texas State hold CAHIIM accreditation at the master’s level, and UTHealth Houston’s and UT Southwestern’s master’s are the ones listed here that require a practicum.
Explore More Health Informatics Programs
Compare Texas with health informatics programs in other states, including nearby Oklahoma and Louisiana, browse the master’s directory and bachelor’s directory, or see the nursing informatics school directory.
Texas Schools on This Site
- Texas State University - San Marcos
- Texas Woman's University - Denton
- University of North Texas - Denton
- University of Texas at Arlington (Nursing Informatics) - Arlington
- UT Southwestern Medical Center - Dallas
- UTHealth Houston - Houston