University of Texas at Arlington

College of Nursing and Health Innovation • Arlington, TX • Online or Campus • Tuition Not Clearly Stated

University of Texas at Arlington offers 1 Nursing Informatics program:

  • MSN in Health Informatics

Program Overview

Program Est. Tuition Est. Duration Credits
MSN in Health Informatics Not clearly stated Not clearly stated 36

UTA’s informatics MSN combines core nursing graduate courses with four health informatics courses and a 6-credit informatics practicum. It requires two years of RN clinical experience for unconditional admission and can be taken online or in the classroom, full or part time.

Quick Facts

Feature Details
Program Types MSN
Format Online or classroom; full or part time
Practicum Hours 6-credit informatics practicum; clock hours Not clearly stated
RN License Required Yes, with two years of clinical experience
Who It’s For Experienced Texas RNs who want informatics plus nursing management and finance
Distinctive Coursework Healthcare data management and analytics, social determinants of health and informatics, financial management in nursing
Certification Pathway Practicum hours may count toward ANCC NI-BC practice requirements; check ANCC
Tuition Not clearly stated
Accreditation Not stated on the program page; SACSCOC institutional

MSN in Health Informatics

The estimated tuition for the MSN in Health Informatics at University of Texas at Arlington is Not clearly stated.

Students have up to six years to finish the 36 credits.

MSN Curriculum

  • NURS 5327 Exploration of Science and Theories for Nursing
  • NURS 5366 Principles of Research in Nursing; NURS 5367 Evidence-Based Practice
  • NURS 5388 Statistics for Health Care
  • NURS 5342 Management of Nursing Operations; NURS 5341 Financial Management in Nursing
  • NURS-HI 5383 Principles of Healthcare Informatics
  • NURS-HI 5384 Healthcare Data Management and Analytics
  • NURS-HI 5385 Health Information Systems Management
  • NURS-HI 5386 Social Determinants of Health and Healthcare Informatics
  • NURS-HI 5687 Informatics Practicum (6 credits)
You Should Know
  • Probationary admission is available with a 2.8 to 2.99 GPA, for part-time study only.

MSN Practicum and Capstone

  • NURS-HI 5687 Informatics Practicum, 6 credits.

MSN Admissions

  • BSN from an ACEN or CCNE program, 3.0 GPA on the last 60 hours, two years of RN clinical experience, undergraduate statistics, CPR, and an unencumbered RN license.

Tuition

UTA does not publish tuition for this MSN track on its program page, and its online program site lists only other MSN tracks.

Be aware that:

  • ⚠️ UTA’s online MSN site lists 36-credit tracks such as nursing administration at about $17,800, but not this informatics track. Ask UTA for its tuition before applying.

Texas resident and nonresident rates may differ.


Why Choose This Nursing Informatics Program?

Built for experienced RNs who want informatics with a management foundation.

Who it fits. RNs with at least two years of clinical work who also want nursing operations and finance courses fit this MSN.

The trade-offs. Tuition is unpublished, and the two-year experience requirement rules out new graduates.


Accreditation

UTA’s program page does not state programmatic accreditation for this MSN; confirm CCNE status with UTA.

The University of Texas at Arlington is institutionally accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC).

Check ANCC’s Informatics Nursing certification eligibility rules for practice-hour requirements.


Compare More Nursing Informatics Programs

See all Texas health informatics programs, browse the nursing informatics school directory, or read the nursing informatics degree guide.