Walden University

Minneapolis, MN • Online • $505/Quarter Credit

Walden University offers 3 Nursing Informatics programs:

  • MSN, Nursing Informatics (BSN to MSN)
  • MSN, Nursing Informatics (RN to MSN)
  • Post-Master’s Certificate, Informatics

Program Overview

Program Est. Tuition Est. Duration Credits
MSN, Nursing Informatics (BSN to MSN) $27.9K 18 months 53 quarter
MSN, Nursing Informatics (RN to MSN) $39.6K Varies 79 quarter
Post-Master’s Certificate Not clearly stated Not clearly stated Not clearly stated

Walden offers its online informatics MSN two ways: a course-based track with set deadlines, or a self-paced Tempo Learning track billed by three-month subscription. Associate-degree RNs can enter through an RN-to-MSN track.

Quick Facts

Feature Details
Program Types MSN (BSN or RN entry); post-master’s certificate
Format Online, course-based or self-paced Tempo Learning
Practicum Hours Not clearly stated; Walden’s field placement team helps find sites and preceptors
RN License Required Yes
Who It’s For Working nurses who want flexible pacing or a subscription model
Distinctive Coursework Transforming nursing through technology, information and knowledge management
Certification Pathway ANCC NI-BC hours depend on practicum hours, which are not stated
Tuition $505 per MSN quarter credit ($435 RN foundational) plus $185 per quarter
Accreditation CCNE (MSN); HLC institutional

MSN, Nursing Informatics (BSN to MSN)

The estimated tuition for the MSN in Nursing Informatics at Walden University is approximately $27,875 for BSN entrants (53 quarter credits at $505, plus program fees), or $22,825 after Walden’s Believe and Achieve scholarship.

The course-based track takes about 18 months; Walden lists the Tempo track at about 14 months and $16,000.

MSN Curriculum

  • Transforming Nursing and Healthcare Through Technology
  • Policy and Advocacy for Improving Population Health
  • Interprofessional Organizational and Systems Leadership
  • Essentials of Evidence-Based Practice
  • Perspectives on Graduate Study for Advanced Nursing Practice
You Should Know
  • Walden accepts up to 25 transfer credits for BSN entrants and 35 for RN entrants.
  • Books may add $1,500 to $2,000, and practicum may add travel and per-quarter practicum fees.

MSN Practicum and Capstone

  • A practicum with a preceptor; hours are Not clearly stated on the program page.

MSN Admissions

  • BSN and an active RN license; other requirements are Not clearly stated on the program page.

MSN, Nursing Informatics (RN to MSN)

The estimated tuition for the RN-to-MSN track at Walden University is approximately $39,555 (26 foundational credits at $435 and 53 MSN credits at $505, plus fees), or $34,505 after the scholarship.

RN to MSN Curriculum

  • Foundational courses include Information and Knowledge Management, Foundations of Nursing Research, and Informatics in Nursing and Healthcare.

Post-Master’s Certificate, Informatics

The estimated tuition for the informatics post-master’s certificate at Walden University is Not clearly stated.

Certificate Curriculum

  • Listed in Walden’s catalog for nurses who already hold a master’s; details are Not clearly stated on the MSN page.

Tuition

Walden charges $505 per MSN quarter credit and $435 per RN foundational credit, plus a $185 program fee each quarter.

Track Estimated Total After Scholarship
BSN to MSN, course-based $27,875 $22,825
RN to MSN, course-based $39,555 $34,505
BSN to MSN, Tempo (14 months) $16,000 Not clearly stated

Be aware that:

  • ⚠️ Walden does not state practicum hours, so check that the program meets the ANCC’s 200-hour graduate pathway before relying on it for NI-BC eligibility.

Tempo’s $3,750 subscription periods reward students who can move quickly; slower pacing raises the cost.


Why Choose This Nursing Informatics Program?

A cost verdict for nurses who can work fast in a self-paced format.

Cost verdict. The Tempo track’s $16,000 estimate is well below the course-based $27,875 if students finish in about 14 months.

The trade-offs. Practicum hours are unpublished, and Tempo costs rise with every extra subscription period.


Accreditation

Walden’s MSN program is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE).

Walden University is institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).

Check ANCC eligibility for the Informatics Nursing certification (NI-BC), which requires 200 practicum hours on the graduate-program pathway.


Compare More Nursing Informatics Programs

See all Minnesota informatics programs, browse the nursing informatics school directory, or read the nursing informatics degree guide.