Southern University at Shreveport Health Informatics Programs

Health Information Technology Program • Shreveport, LA • Hybrid • Per-credit rate not stated

Southern University at Shreveport offers 1 Health Informatics program:

  • AAS in Health Information Technology

Program Overview

Program Est. Tuition Est. Duration Credits
AAS in Health Information Technology About $14.3K (school estimate) 17 months 68

SUSLA’s CAHIIM-accredited associate degree admits up to 15 students a year and mixes classroom, hybrid, and online courses. Its two professional practice experiences total 180 contact hours at sites assigned in the student’s own region.

Quick Facts

Feature Details
Program Types AAS in Health Information Technology
Format Classroom, hybrid, and online courses; never fully online in a semester
Practicum Hours 180 (two 90-hour professional practice experiences)
Practicum Placement Assigned by the PPE coordinator at an affiliated site in the student’s region
RN License Required No
Who It’s For Students seeking coding and health records jobs and the RHIT
Distinctive Coursework ICD and CPT coding, reimbursement and compliance, statistics and QI, RHIT exam review
Certification Pathway RHIT exam eligibility
Accreditation CAHIIM, next review 2028-29
Cohort Limit Up to 15 students a year; application deadline August 7, 2026

AAS in Health Information Technology

The estimated tuition for the AAS in Health Information Technology at Southern University at Shreveport is approximately $14,344 (the program’s own total cost estimate; per-credit rate not stated).

The program can generally be completed in about 17 months after admission.

AAS Curriculum

The HIT courses concentrate on coding, reimbursement, data management, and leadership, ending in an RHIT review course.

  • HIMT 105S Data Concepts (3)
  • HIMT 215S IT and Data Management (3)
  • HIMT 222S CPT/HCPCS (3)
  • HIMT 223S Reimbursement and Compliance (3)
  • HIMT 225S and 226S ICD I and II (6)
  • HIMT 231S Healthcare Statistics and Quality Improvement (3)
  • HIMT 233S Organizational Management and Leadership (3)
  • HIMT 250S RHIT Exam Review (3)

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • The 2024-26 degree plan totals 68 credits; the 2026 application packet says 72 in one place and 68 in its curriculum table.

AAS Practicum and Capstone

  • HIMT 241S and 248S Professional Practice Experience I and II (1 credit each).
  • Each is 90 “onsite and/or partially simulated virtual contact hours.”
  • The PPE coordinator assigns an affiliated site in the student’s region.

Because sites are assigned near the student, out-of-area students in the hybrid program can complete practice without relocating, though some courses still require classroom attendance.

AAS Admissions

Admission is selective, with up to 15 students chosen each fall.

  • 2.0 GPA.
  • Prerequisites in anatomy and physiology and ALLH 210S with a C or better, plus three of five remaining prerequisites.
  • $75 application fee; deadline August 7, 2026.

Tuition

SUSLA’s 2026 application packet estimates the total cost of the HIT program at $14,344. A per-credit rate is not published on the program pages.

Item Amount
Program cost estimate $14,344
Professional course fee $110 per semester
Clinical assessment fee $150 per clinical semester

Be aware that:

  • The packet does not say whether its estimate covers residency differences or which fees are included.

At about $14,000, it is a low-cost route to an accredited associate degree in north Louisiana.


Why Choose This Health Informatics Program?

Best for students who want small classes and practice assigned close to home.

Workload. Two 90-hour practice experiences are manageable alongside other commitments, and the program finishes in about 17 months.

The trade-offs. Admission is capped at 15 a year, some courses meet in person, and RHIT pass rates are not published. SUSLA reports 100% job placement and graduation for 2025-26.


Accreditation

The AAS in Health Information Technology is accredited by CAHIIM, with continuing accreditation last granted in February 2021 and the next review in 2028-29. SUSLA says accreditation is reaffirmed through 2028.

Southern University at Shreveport is institutionally accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC).

Graduates of CAHIIM-accredited associate programs are eligible for AHIMA’s Registered Health Information Technician (RHIT) exam.


Other Health Informatics Schools

See all Louisiana health informatics programs, browse the health informatics school directory, or read the health informatics degree guide.