Morehouse School of Medicine Health Informatics Programs

MSM Online • Atlanta, GA • Online • $950/Credit

Morehouse School of Medicine offers 1 Health Informatics program:

  • MS in Health Informatics

Program Overview

Program Est. Tuition Est. Duration Credits
MS in Health Informatics $33.3K 14 months 35

Morehouse School of Medicine’s online MS moves one cohort in lockstep through 8-week courses and finishes in 14 months, ending in a technical capstone practicum. The curriculum adds consumer digital health, value-based care, and big data to the usual systems and standards content.

Quick Facts

Feature Details
Program Types MS
Format Online lockstep cohort, 8-week terms
Practicum Hours Capstone practicum (3 or 4 credits); hours not stated
RN License Required No
Who It’s For Allied health, IT, and business professionals entering health informatics
Distinctive Coursework Value-based care models, consumer digital health, big data, digital therapeutics elective
Certification Pathway Fits AMIA AHIC Track 1 with work experience
Tuition $950 per credit, all students
Accreditation CAHIIM candidacy (per MSM); SACSCOC institutional
Start Terms Fall only (July 3 deadline for 2026)

MS in Health Informatics

The estimated tuition for the MS in Health Informatics at Morehouse School of Medicine is approximately $33,250 (35 credits at $950/credit).

The program can generally be completed in 14 months.

MS Curriculum

Twelve core courses, mostly 2 or 3 credits, run in sequence alongside two electives.

  • Introduction to Value-Based Care Models and the US Healthcare System (2)
  • Introduction to Health Informatics (3)
  • Clinical Operations, Thinking and Communication (3)
  • Health IT Standards and Interoperability (2)
  • Clinical Decision Support Systems (3)
  • Information System Acquisition and Lifecycle (3)
  • Data Mining and Analytics Techniques (3)
  • Consumer Digital Health (3)
  • Big Data Management and Analytics (2)
  • Health Science Capstone Practicum (3)

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • Electives include Leadership in Healthcare, Digital Therapeutics and App Development, and Public Health Social Network Analysis (2 credits each), plus Introduction to Biomedical Data Science (3).
  • The program homepage describes a separate Leadership track with its own practicum; the curriculum page lists leadership only as an elective.
  • Course descriptions list Data Mining as 2 credits and the capstone as 4, versus 3 and 3 in the overview.

MS Practicum and Capstone

  • Health Science Capstone Practicum, a hands-on technical project in the final term.
  • Hours and placement model are Not clearly stated.

The capstone falls in a single 8-week term, so students should expect a compressed, intensive finish.

MS Admissions

Admission is light on prerequisites: no GRE or GMAT and no stated GPA minimum.

  • Bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution.
  • Recommended: an introductory research or statistics course, and a current job where coursework applies.
  • Résumé, one signed recommendation on letterhead, $50 fee.
  • No RN license required.
  • Fall 2026 cohort: early decision April 3, final deadline July 3; classes began August 17.

Tuition

Morehouse School of Medicine charges $950 per credit for the MSHI, the same for every student.

Item Amount
Tuition, 35 credits $33,250
Fees $150
Graduation fee $150
Application fee $50
Total (school estimate) $33,600

Be aware that:

  • The page does not state an academic year for the rate, and books and lab fees are extra.

At about $33,600 with fees, the cost is predictable because every student follows the same 14-month sequence.


Why Choose This Health Informatics Program?

Designed for career changers who want a fixed, fast schedule and a medical school credential.

Workload feasibility. The lockstep 8-week terms mean two courses at a time with no course planning, and graduation in 14 months.

Content. Value-based care, consumer digital health, and an app development elective extend the curriculum beyond systems and standards.

The trade-offs. One fall start a year, and the program is not yet in CAHIIM’s directory. Practicum hours are unpublished.


Accreditation

MSM says the MSHI is in CAHIIM candidacy, pending accreditation review. It does not yet appear in CAHIIM’s directory of accredited programs, so it is not yet accredited.

Morehouse School of Medicine is institutionally accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC).

A master’s in health informatics fits Track 1 of the AMIA Health Informatics Certification, which also requires informatics work experience. The MS does not lead to the RHIA.


Other Health Informatics Schools

See all Georgia health informatics programs, browse the health informatics master’s directory, or read the health informatics degree guide.