Tahlequah, OK • Online • $344.50/Credit (2026-27, fees included)
Northeastern State University offers 3 Nursing Informatics programs:
- MSN, Nursing Informatics Option
- Graduate Nursing Certificate in Nursing Informatics
- Graduate Certificate in Health Informatics
Program Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credits |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN, Nursing Informatics Option | $10.7K | Not clearly stated | 31 |
| Graduate Nursing Certificate in Nursing Informatics | $4.1K | Not clearly stated | 12 |
| Graduate Certificate in Health Informatics | $5.1K | Not clearly stated | 15 |
NSU’s online MSN in nursing informatics charges $344.50 per credit, fees included, to Oklahoma and out-of-state students alike. It includes 200 precepted practicum hours, and RNs without a BSN can enter through a non-traditional pathway.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | MSN; post-BSN nursing certificate; business-school health informatics certificate |
| Format | Online, 7-week courses |
| Practicum Hours | 200, with a preceptor and faculty mentor (16-week practicum) |
| RN License Required | Yes for nursing programs; no for the health informatics certificate |
| Who It’s For | RNs, including ADN holders, seeking an affordable online informatics MSN |
| Distinctive Coursework | System design life cycle, data management and healthcare technology |
| Certification Pathway | 200 practicum hours match the ANCC Informatics Nursing (NI-BC) 200-hour minimum |
| Tuition | $311.75 tuition plus $32.75 fee per credit, all residencies (2026-27 online MSN rate) |
| Accreditation | ACEN stated for the Administrative Leadership option only; HLC institutional |
MSN, Nursing Informatics Option
The estimated tuition for the MSN, Nursing Informatics Option at Northeastern State University is approximately $10,680 (31 credits at $344.50/credit, fees included).
Program length is not published; courses run 7 weeks and the practicum 16 weeks.
MSN Curriculum
A 19-credit MSN core plus four informatics option courses.
- NURS 5293 Advanced Research and Evidence-Based Practice (3)
- NURS 5123 Theoretical Foundations for Nursing Practice (3)
- NURS 5213 Cultural Perspectives (3)
- NURS 5253 Policy, Ethics, and Quality (3)
- NURS 5313 Issues and Trends in Professional Nursing (3)
- NURS 5613 Leadership Development for the Advanced Nursing Professional (3)
- NURS 5523 Foundations of Nursing Informatics Practice (3)
- NURS 5553 System Design Life Cycle (3)
- NURS 5583 Data Management and Healthcare Technology (3)
- NURS 5810 Practicum (2)
- NURS 5992 Nursing Practice Capstone (2)
You Should Know
- NSU does not publish a credit total; 31 credits is summed from the course list.
- The non-traditional pathway lists NURS 4133 as Population Health, while NSU’s catalog titles NURS 4133 Fundamentals of Nursing Research.
MSN Practicum and Capstone
- 200 practicum hours over 16 weeks with a preceptor and faculty mentor.
- A 2-credit nursing practice capstone.
MSN Admissions
- Traditional: BSN from an ACEN, NLN CNEA, or CCNE program, 2.5 cumulative GPA (or 3.0 in nursing), and an unencumbered RN license.
- Non-traditional: ADN or non-nursing bachelor’s plus RN license, specified nursing courses, statistics and research with a C or better, and a 2.5 GPA.
Graduate Nursing Certificate in Nursing Informatics
The estimated tuition for the Graduate Nursing Certificate in Nursing Informatics at Northeastern State University is approximately $4,134 (12 credits at $344.50/credit).
Nursing Certificate Curriculum
- NURS 5613, 5523, 5553, and 5583, the same four courses as the MSN informatics option.
You Should Know
- Admission requires a BSN and a current RN license, not a master’s degree.
Graduate Certificate in Health Informatics
The estimated tuition for the Graduate Certificate in Health Informatics at Northeastern State University is approximately $5,138 for Oklahoma residents (15 credits at $342.50/credit online, fees included).
Health Informatics Certificate Curriculum
- HCA 5423 Health Services Technology and Application (3)
- HCA 5523 Health Informatics Survey (3)
- MBA 5123 Analysis for Business Decision Making (3)
- MBA 5513 Strategic Project Management (3)
- MGMT 5103 Business Analytics Techniques (3)
You Should Know
- Prerequisites are undergraduate statistics and MBA 5533 or its equivalent; no RN license is required.
Tuition
NSU’s 2026-27 online MSN rate is $311.75 tuition plus a $32.75 mandatory fee per credit, nearly identical for residents ($344.50) and nonresidents ($345.50).
| Program (2026-27) | Credits | Per Credit with Fee | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN, Nursing Informatics | 31 | $344.50 | $10,680 |
| Nursing Informatics Certificate | 12 | $344.50 | $4,134 |
| Health Informatics Certificate | 15 | $342.50 | $5,138 |
- Rates come from NSU’s tuition and fees page.
Be aware that:
- NSU lists a $30 per-credit Graduate Nursing Enhancement Fee without saying which programs pay it; if it applies, the MSN rises to about $11,610.
- ⚠️ NSU’s page calls only the Administrative Leadership option ACEN-accredited and states no accreditation for the informatics option. Confirm its status before enrolling.
Even with the possible enhancement fee, the MSN totals under $12,000 for students in any state.
Why Choose This Nursing Informatics Program?
A cost verdict for RNs who want an online informatics MSN that meets the ANCC practicum minimum.
Cost verdict. At about $10,700 to $11,600 for any residency, the MSN costs less than Georgia Southwestern State University‘s roughly $16,700 online informatics MSN.
The trade-offs. Only four of the eleven courses are informatics-specific, program length and credit totals are not published, and the informatics option’s accreditation is not stated.
Accreditation
NSU describes its MSN Administrative Leadership option as ACEN-accredited; its page does not state accreditation for the Nursing Informatics option.
Northeastern State University is institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).
The 200 practicum hours match the minimum for the ANCC Informatics Nursing certification (NI-BC) graduate-program pathway; check ANCC eligibility for current rules.
Compare More Nursing Informatics Programs
See all Oklahoma informatics programs, browse the nursing informatics school directory, or read the nursing informatics degree guide.