University of Illinois Springfield

College of Business and Management • Springfield, IL • Online • $558/Credit (Year Not Stated)

University of Illinois Springfield offers 1 Health Informatics program:

  • MS in Healthcare Informatics

Program Overview

Program Est. Tuition Est. Duration Credits
MS in Healthcare Informatics $16.7K 12 months to 2 years 30

UIS’s online healthcare informatics master’s is a 30-credit business school degree of ten 8-week courses, which UIS says can be finished in as few as 12 months. Coursework centers on databases, systems analysis, interoperability, data mining, and security.

Quick Facts

Feature Details
Program Types Master’s
Format Online, 8-week courses
Practicum Hours None; 1-credit exit exam
RN License Required No
Who It’s For Working professionals who want a short, low-cost online master’s
Distinctive Coursework Health information exchange and interoperability, data mining, data communications
Certification Pathway Not CAHIIM-accredited; may fit AMIA AHIC with experience
Tuition $558 per credit (year not stated)
Accreditation AACSB (business school); HLC institutional

MS in Healthcare Informatics

The estimated tuition for the MS in Healthcare Informatics at University of Illinois Springfield is approximately $16,740 (30 credits at $558/credit).

UIS lists the program at as few as 12 months; its main program page lists 2 years.

MS Curriculum

Ten 3-credit courses.

  • HCI 513 Introduction to Healthcare Informatics
  • HCI 542 Database Concepts for Healthcare Management
  • HCI 552 Healthcare System Analysis and Design
  • HCI 556 Health Information Exchange and Interoperability
  • HCI 558 Project Management in Healthcare
  • HCI 564 Fundamentals of Data Communications
  • HCI 576 Data Mining in Healthcare
  • HCI 578 Health Care Information Systems Security and Privacy
  • BUS 537 Survey of US Healthcare System; BUS 538 Managing Healthcare Operations

MS Practicum and Capstone

  • HCI 586 Exit Exam (1 credit) on core course knowledge; no practicum or project.

MS Admissions

  • Bachelor’s degree with a 2.5 GPA, or 2.0 to 2.49 with two years of related experience reviewed case by case; no GMAT; $75 fee.

Tuition

UIS’s online business college lists $558 per credit, or $16,740 for the program, without stating a year.

Item Amount
Per credit $558
Per 3-credit course $1,674
30 credits $16,740

Be aware that:

  • ⚠️ UIS’s main program page lists online tuition as $6,675 per year, which does not match $16,740 over one to two years. Confirm the current rate.

The exit exam credit may add one more credit of tuition.


Why Choose This Health Informatics Program?

A cost verdict for students who want a fast online master’s.

Cost verdict. At about $16,700, the degree costs less than UIC‘s $28,500 MSHI, though UIC’s is CAHIIM-accredited.

The trade-offs. It has no practicum or project, ending with an exit exam, and is not CAHIIM-accredited.


Accreditation

UIS’s MS in Healthcare Informatics is not CAHIIM-accredited; UIS cites its College of Business and Management’s AACSB accreditation.

The University of Illinois Springfield is institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).

Check the AMIA Health Informatics Certification eligibility rules for non-accredited master’s pathways.


Compare More Health Informatics Programs

See all Illinois health informatics programs, browse the health informatics master’s directory, or read the health informatics degree guide.