College of Allied Health • Louisville, KY • Online • $450/Quarter Credit
Sullivan University offers 1 Health Informatics program:
- AS in Health Information Management
Program Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credits |
|---|---|---|---|
| AS in Health Information Management | $41.4K, plus fees | 18–24 months | About 90–92 quarter credits |
Sullivan’s CAHIIM-accredited associate degree is entirely online apart from a final-quarter practicum and runs on year-round quarters, finishing in 18 to 24 months. It leads to the RHIT, but at roughly three times the tuition of Kentucky’s public community college option.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | Associate of Science in Health Information Management |
| Format | Online, plus an on-site practicum |
| Practicum Hours | HIM 290 practicum (4 quarter credits), final quarter; hours not stated |
| RN License Required | No |
| Who It’s For | Students wanting a year-round online path to coding jobs and the RHIT |
| Distinctive Coursework | CPT, ICD-10-CM, and ICD-10-PCS coding, advanced coding, EHRs, legal aspects |
| Certification Pathway | RHIT exam eligibility |
| Tuition | $450 per quarter credit, plus $37.50 per credit fee from fall 2026 |
| Accreditation | CAHIIM, next review 2033-34; SACSCOC institutional |
AS in Health Information Management
The estimated tuition for the AS in Health Information Management at Sullivan University is approximately $41,400 (about 92 quarter credits at $450/credit, per Sullivan’s tuition supplement).
The program can generally be completed in 18 to 24 months.
AS Curriculum
Most courses are 4 quarter credits, with a heavy emphasis on coding.
- HIM 132 CPT Coding (4)
- HIM 143 ICD-10-CM Coding (4)
- HIM 271 ICD-10-PCS Coding (4)
- HIM 285 Advanced Medical Coding (4)
- HIM 210 Electronic Health Records (4)
- HIM 161 Legal Aspects of Health Information (4)
- HIM 290 Health Information Practicum (4)
You Should Know
- ⚠️ Sullivan does not state a credit total. The listed courses add up to 90 quarter credits, while the tuition supplement’s $41,400 at $450 per credit implies 92.
- Quarter credits are smaller than semester credits; 90 quarter credits equal about 60 semester credits.
AS Practicum and Capstone
- HIM 290 Health Information Practicum (4 quarter credits), on site in the final quarter.
- Clock hours and how sites are found are Not clearly stated.
AS Admissions
- Admission requirements and start dates are Not clearly stated on the program page.
Tuition
Sullivan charges $450 per quarter credit. An errata notice adds a $37.50 per-credit academic support fee from fall 2026 and a $50 per-course technology fee.
| Item | Basis | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Published program total | $41,400 |
| Academic support fee | $37.50 × 90–92 credits | $3,375–$3,450 |
| Technology fee | $50 × about 23 courses | About $1,150 |
- Rates come from Sullivan’s tuition supplement (effective March 2025) and its September 2026 errata.
Be aware that:
- The tuition supplement predates the new fees, so the all-in total is a derived estimate of about $46,000.
- Jefferson Community and Technical College’s accredited HIT degree costs about $12,000 to $13,000 in tuition for Kentucky residents.
The price buys year-round scheduling and a fully online format, but it is several times the public option.
Why Choose This Health Informatics Program?
It is a trade of money for schedule and flexibility.
What it offers. Fully online coursework on a year-round quarter calendar, finishing in as little as 18 months, with the practicum saved for the end.
The trade-offs. The cost is high for an associate degree, credit totals are not stated directly, and RHIT pass rates are not published.
Who it fits. Students outside the Louisville area, or those who cannot fit a community college’s term schedule, may find the flexibility worth the cost.
Accreditation
The AS in Health Information Management is accredited by CAHIIM. The directory shows continuing accreditation last granted in August 2026, with the next review in 2033-34. Sullivan’s program page still says “reaffirmed through 2027,” which appears out of date.
Sullivan University is institutionally accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC).
Graduates of CAHIIM-accredited associate programs are eligible for AHIMA’s Registered Health Information Technician (RHIT) exam.
Compare More Health Informatics Programs
See all Kentucky health informatics programs, browse the health informatics school directory, or read the health informatics degree guide.