Weatherford, OK • Online • $252–$640/Credit (2026-27)
Southwestern Oklahoma State University offers 3 Health Informatics programs:
- MS in Health Information Management
- BS in Health Information Management
- MS in Health Information Management with MBA option
Program Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credits |
|---|---|---|---|
| MS in Health Information Management | $12.1K / $25.0K | Not clearly stated | 39 |
| BS in Health Information Management | $252 / $582 per credit | 4 years | Not clearly stated |
| MS in HIM with MBA option | $16.7K / $34.6K | Not clearly stated | 54 |
SWOSU offers CAHIIM-accredited HIM programs at the bachelor’s and master’s levels, both fully online. Its HIM programs are CAHIIM Future Education Model demonstration programs, and the master’s can be paired with an MBA or with SWOSU’s Pharm.D.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | Master’s; bachelor’s; MBA and Pharm.D. dual options |
| Format | Online coursework; BS internships at Oklahoma affiliate sites |
| Practicum Hours | BS: internships throughout the professional curriculum; MS: 16-week capstone; hours not stated |
| RN License Required | No |
| Who It’s For | Oklahoma residents seeking the RHIA at public tuition rates |
| Distinctive Coursework | Health data analysis, revenue management, privacy and security, research design |
| Certification Pathway | RHIA eligible after either CAHIIM-accredited program |
| Tuition | Graduate $310 resident, $640 nonresident; undergraduate $252 / $582, plus $44.20/credit fees (2026-27) |
| Accreditation | CAHIIM (BS next review 2029-2030; MS 2027-2028); HLC institutional |
MS in Health Information Management
The estimated tuition for the MS in Health Information Management at Southwestern Oklahoma State University is approximately $12,090 for Oklahoma residents (39 credits at $310/credit) or $24,960 for nonresidents.
Program length is not published.
MS Curriculum
Twelve three-credit HIM courses, a two-credit topics course, and a one-credit capstone.
- HIM 5213 Healthcare Information Management (3)
- HIM 5233 Legal and Corporate Compliance in Healthcare (3)
- HIM 5253 Health Data Privacy and Security (3)
- HIM 5283 Healthcare Information Systems (3)
- HIM 5293 Healthcare Professional Leadership (3)
- HIM 5313 Healthcare Revenue Management (3)
- HIM 5383 Operations Management in Healthcare (3)
- HIM 5393 Quality and Risk Management in Healthcare (3)
- HIM 5413 Health Data Management (3)
- HIM 5423 Health Data Analysis (3)
- HIM 5433 Healthcare Research Design (3)
- HIM 5443 Financial Management in HIM (3)
- HIM 5452 Contemporary Topics in HIM (2)
- HIM 5461 HIM Capstone (1)
More curriculum details are available in the plan of study.
You Should Know
- SWOSU reports 2025-26 graduate outcomes of 97% retention and 89% job placement within one year.
- A Pharm.D./MSHIM dual degree began in spring 2024 for SWOSU pharmacy students.
MS Practicum and Capstone
- HIM 5461, a 16-week, one-credit capstone.
- Practicum hours are Not clearly stated.
MS Admissions
- Bachelor’s degree; other requirements are Not clearly stated on the pages that could be read.
BS in Health Information Management
The estimated tuition for the BS in Health Information Management at Southwestern Oklahoma State University is $252 per credit for residents and $582 for nonresidents; total credits are Not clearly stated.
Students who follow the recommended sequence finish in May of their senior year.
BS Curriculum
- Pre-professional coursework, followed by an online professional HIM curriculum built on CAHIIM entry-level competencies.
- Optional Medical Coding certificate and Health Care Administration minor with added hours.
You Should Know
- Internship sites are mainly in Oklahoma City and other Oklahoma locations, and students pay their own travel costs.
- SWOSU reports 2025-26 undergraduate outcomes of 95% retention and 90% job placement within one year.
BS Practicum and Capstone
- Placements at health care facilities throughout the professional curriculum; hours are Not clearly stated.
BS Admissions
- A 2.50 GPA in pre-professional courses, an application, and two references.
- Seats depend on faculty ratios and clinical site availability.
- A 2.5 GPA and a C or better in professional courses are required to progress.
MS in Health Information Management with MBA Option
The estimated tuition for the MS in HIM with MBA option at Southwestern Oklahoma State University is approximately $16,740 for residents (54 credits at $310/credit) or $34,560 for nonresidents, based on the 39 HIM credits plus five MBA courses in SWOSU’s plan of study.
MBA Option Curriculum
- The 39-credit MSHIM.
- ACCTG 5633, ECONO 5653, MNGMT 5643, MRKTG 5623, and MNGMT 5923 (3 each).
You Should Know
- The plan of study does not state a combined credit total; 54 credits is computed here.
Tuition
SWOSU’s 2026-27 tuition is $310 per credit for residents and $640 for nonresidents at the 5000 level, and $252 and $582 for undergraduate courses.
| Program (2026-27) | Resident | Nonresident | Fees ($44.20/cr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| MS in HIM (39 cr) | $12,090 | $24,960 | $1,724 |
| MS in HIM + MBA (54 cr) | $16,740 | $34,560 | $2,387 |
- Fees are the $29.20 mandatory fee plus the $15 academic enhancement fee per credit.
- Rates come from SWOSU’s tuition and fees page.
Be aware that:
- ⚠️ SWOSU lists no separate online tuition rate, so out-of-state online students may pay the $640 nonresident rate. Confirm which rate applies before enrolling.
For an Oklahoma resident, the MS in HIM costs about $13,800 with per-credit fees.
Why Choose This Health Informatics Program?
A cost verdict for Oklahoma residents who want the RHIA through a public university online.
Cost verdict. The resident master’s costs about $13,800 with fees, compared with about $16,800 in tuition alone for William Carey University‘s accredited online HIM master’s.
The trade-offs. Nonresident tuition roughly doubles the cost, and bachelor’s students must reach in-person internship sites in Oklahoma.
Accreditation
CAHIIM accredits SWOSU’s bachelor’s in Health Information Management (continuing, next review 2029-2030) and its master’s (next review 2027-2028), both delivered online.
Southwestern Oklahoma State University is institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).
Graduates of CAHIIM-accredited bachelor’s and master’s HIM programs are eligible for AHIMA’s Registered Health Information Administrator (RHIA) exam.
Compare More Health Informatics Programs
See all Oklahoma health informatics programs, browse the health informatics master’s directory, or read the health informatics degree guide.