College of Health and Behavioral Sciences • Smithfield, RI • Hybrid • $1,045/Credit (MS)
Bryant University offers 3 Health Informatics programs:
- MS in Health Informatics and AI
- Graduate Certificate in Health Informatics and AI
- BS in Health Informatics
Program Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credits |
|---|---|---|---|
| MS in Health Informatics and AI | $31.4K | 12 or 18 months | 30 |
| Graduate Certificate in Health Informatics and AI | $10.1K | 6 to 9 months | 12 |
| BS in Health Informatics | $219.7K (4 years at the 2026-27 rate) | 4 years | Not clearly stated |
Bryant’s STEM-designated MS puts AI at the center: machine learning or AI health analytics in R, Python, and Tableau, AI in electronic health records, and a final internship or capstone with New England health partners. It can be finished in 12 months.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | MS; online graduate certificate; BS |
| Format | MS in person and hybrid in Smithfield; certificate online |
| Practicum Hours | 3-credit internship or capstone; hours not stated |
| Practicum Placement | Health partners across New England |
| RN License Required | No |
| Who It’s For | Career changers and analysts wanting applied AI skills in health care |
| Distinctive Coursework | AI health analytics (R, Python, Tableau), machine learning, database management |
| Certification Pathway | Fits AMIA AHIC Track 1 with work experience |
| Tuition | $3,135 per 3-credit MS course; $2,400 per online certificate course |
| Accreditation | No CAHIIM accreditation; NECHE institutional |
| Start Terms | MS: fall and spring; certificate: five starts a year |
MS in Health Informatics and AI
The estimated tuition for the MS in Health Informatics and AI at Bryant University is approximately $31,350 (30 credits at $1,045/credit, or $3,135 per course).
The program can generally be completed in 12 or 18 months.
MS Curriculum
Ten 3-credit courses, with choices in three slots: operations or advanced AI, AI analytics or machine learning, and capstone or internship.
- HS 501 Introduction to Health Informatics and AI (3)
- HS 510 Population Health (3)
- HS 520 Healthcare Law, Privacy, and Ethics (3)
- HS 530 Healthcare Operations and Systems or HS 540 Advanced Applications of AI in Healthcare (3)
- HS 610 Electronic Health Records and AI (3)
- HS 630 AI Health Analytics or ISA 530 Fundamentals of Machine Learning (3)
- HS 640 Project Management (3)
- HS 650 Database Management for Healthcare (3)
- ISA 520 Data Visualization and Communication (3)
- HS 690 Capstone or HS 691 Internship (3)
More curriculum details are available here.
You Should Know
- ISA 500 Programming Foundations for Analytics is required at 0 credits.
- The program is STEM-designated, so F-1 graduates may apply for a 24-month OPT extension.
MS Practicum and Capstone
- HS 690 Capstone: a one-semester internship with a community partner or a thesis using health data, ending in a presentation.
- HS 691 Internship: practical work with a health care partner.
- Hours and how placements are arranged are Not clearly stated.
The internship option is the most direct way for students without health care experience to build a work record before graduating.
MS Admissions
- Bachelor’s degree; no GMAT or GRE. GPA minimum Not clearly stated.
- Statement of objectives, résumé, one recommendation, $80 fee (waived for alumni and veterans).
- No RN license required. Rolling admission; fall and spring starts.
Graduate Certificate in Health Informatics and AI
The estimated tuition for the Graduate Certificate in Health Informatics and AI at Bryant University is approximately $9,600 (four courses at $2,400), plus a $495 orientation fee.
The program can generally be completed in six to nine months.
Certificate Curriculum
- GRO 550 Online Strategies for Success (orientation)
- HS 501 Introduction to Health Informatics and AI (3)
- HS 540 Advanced Applications of AI in Healthcare (3)
- One of HS 520, HS 530, or HS 610 (3)
You Should Know
- The certificate is fully online and asynchronous with occasional Zoom classes, in 10-week terms with five starts a year.
- Bryant says credits transfer into its online MS in Applied AI with a B or better; transfer into the Health Informatics and AI MS is Not clearly stated.
BS in Health Informatics
The estimated tuition for the BS in Health Informatics at Bryant University is approximately $219,736 (four years at the 2026-27 rate of $54,934).
The program can generally be completed in four years.
BS Curriculum
- Statistical Analysis with R (MATH 421)
- Data Visualization (ISA 310)
- Introduction to Machine Learning (ISA 340)
- Economics of Health and Medical Care (ECO 473)
- Global Health Challenges (SCI 466)
- Health Psychology (PSY 375)
You Should Know
- Seniors choose an internship at a local health care organization or a data science capstone.
- Bryant offers a preferred-admission pathway to the Brown University School of Public Health.
- Total credits are Not clearly stated on the program page.
Tuition
Bryant charges $3,135 per 3-credit MS course ($1,045 per credit) and $2,400 per online certificate course. Undergraduate tuition is $54,934 for 2026-27, plus $1,304 in fees.
| Program | Tuition | Fees | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| MS, 10 courses | $31,350 | $80 application | $31,430 |
| Certificate, 4 courses | $9,600 | $495 orientation, $80 application | $10,175 |
| BS, 4 years | $219,736 | $5,216 | $224,952 |
- Graduate rates come from Bryant’s program pages; undergraduate rates from Bryant’s tuition page.
Be aware that:
- The MS page does not state which academic year its rate covers, and Bryant notes rates change annually.
- Undergraduate totals are before financial aid, which most Bryant undergraduates receive.
At about $31,400, the MS costs the same for every student and can be finished in a year.
Why Choose This Health Informatics Program?
Best suited to students who want hands-on AI and analytics skills in a short, in-person master’s.
Technical depth. AI analytics in R and Python, machine learning, and database management prepare graduates for data-heavy roles.
The trade-offs. The MS is in person or hybrid in Smithfield, not CAHIIM-accredited, and the internship’s hours are unpublished.
Accreditation
Bryant’s health informatics programs are not CAHIIM-accredited, and Bryant makes no CAHIIM claim.
Bryant University is institutionally accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE).
A master’s in health informatics fits Track 1 of the AMIA Health Informatics Certification, which also requires informatics work experience. None of the programs leads to the RHIA.
Compare More Health Informatics Programs
See all Rhode Island health informatics programs, browse the health informatics master’s directory, or read the health informatics degree guide.