Department of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences, School of Medicine • Cleveland, OH • Campus • $2,384/Credit
Case Western Reserve University offers 3 Health Informatics programs:
- MS (Biomedical and Health Informatics)
- PhD (Biomedical and Health Informatics)
- Graduate Certificate
Program Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credits |
|---|---|---|---|
| MS in Biomedical and Health Informatics | $71.5K | 16 months (11 months intensive) | 30 |
| PhD in Biomedical and Health Informatics | Year 1 funded | About 4 years | 54 |
| Certificate in Health Informatics | $28.6K–$35.8K | Not clearly stated | 12–15 |
Case Western’s MS is a small, technical medical-school degree: Python, AI in medicine, and statistics make up the required core, and the department admits only about 5 to 10 students a year. Non-thesis students can finish in an intensive 11 months.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | MS, PhD, Certificate in Health Informatics |
| Format | Campus, Cleveland; part-time MS possible |
| Practicum Hours | MS non-thesis: 3-credit practicum or project; hours not stated |
| RN License Required | No; any undergraduate major considered |
| Who It’s For | Students with quantitative aptitude aiming for data, AI, or research roles |
| Distinctive Coursework | Python data structures, AI in medicine and deep learning, statistical methods, epidemiology |
| Certification Pathway | Fits AMIA AHIC Track 1 with work experience |
| Tuition | $2,384 per credit (2026-27 School of Graduate Studies rate; see Tuition) |
| Accreditation | No CAHIIM accreditation claimed; HLC institutional |
| Cohort Size | About 5–10 MS students admitted per year |
| Visa | STEM-designated; F-1 students must study full time |
MS in Biomedical and Health Informatics
The estimated tuition for the MS in Biomedical and Health Informatics at Case Western Reserve University is approximately $71,520 (30 credits at $2,384/credit).
The program can generally be completed in about 16 months full-time, or 11 months on the intensive non-thesis plan.
MS Curriculum
Every student takes the same 9-credit technical core and epidemiology, then one course each in computation and data analytics, chosen from computer science and biostatistics lists.
- PQHS 413 Introduction to Data Structures and Algorithms in Python (3)
- PQHS 416 AI in Medicine: Knowledge Representation and Deep Learning (3)
- PQHS 431 Statistical Methods I (3)
- PQHS 490 Epidemiology: Introduction to Theory and Methods (3)
- Computation and systems, one of: CSDS 433 Database Systems, CSDS 458 Introduction to Bioinformatics, PQHS 471 Machine Learning and Data Mining, others (3)
- Data analytics, one of: PQHS 432 Statistical Methods II, PQHS 459 Longitudinal Data Analysis, PQHS 515 Secondary Analysis of Large Health Care Databases, others (3)
- Electives: 9 credits (non-thesis) or 6 (thesis)
- PQHS 602 Practicum (3) or PQHS 651 Thesis (6)
More curriculum details are available here.
You Should Know
- There are no formal MS concentrations. Students build an area of study around data analytics, biomedical or population health research, or computational systems design.
- The 11-month option applies only to the non-thesis track, and no separate 11-month plan is published.
MS Practicum and Capstone
- Non-thesis: PQHS 602 Practicum (3 credits), an internship or project with a report evaluated by an advisory committee.
- Thesis: PQHS 651 (6 credits), intended for students who may continue to a PhD.
- Practicum hours and placement model are not clearly stated.
The practicum is short at 3 credits, so the degree’s strength is technical coursework rather than field experience. Students should use the Cleveland health systems around campus to find a substantial project.
MS Admissions
The program considers any major, but the core assumes students can handle programming and statistics from the first semester.
- Bachelor’s degree; minimum GPA and prerequisites are not stated.
- GRE optional; MCAT accepted instead.
- Three recommendations (one from a professor), 1–2 page statement, resume, transcripts; $85 fee.
- Fall: rolling, materials by June 30. Spring: rolling, by December 1.
- Applicants choose the practicum or thesis pathway on the application.
PhD in Biomedical and Health Informatics
The estimated tuition for the PhD in Biomedical and Health Informatics at Case Western Reserve University is covered in year one by the School of Medicine, which also pays a stipend and health insurance.
The program can generally be completed in about four years.
- 54 credits: 12-credit core (adds PQHS 432), epidemiology, computation and analytics courses, research ethics and seminar, 13 elective credits, and 18 dissertation credits.
- Fall start only; apply by December 1 to guarantee first-year funding consideration.
- After year one, students are supported by their mentor’s grants.
Certificate in Health Informatics
The estimated tuition for the Certificate in Health Informatics at Case Western Reserve University is approximately $28,608 for 12 credits or $35,760 for 15 (at $2,384/credit, our estimate).
Program length is not clearly stated.
- Required: PQHS 413 and PQHS 416, plus two courses from one concentration: health informatics, clinical research informatics, or bioinformatics.
- A 15-credit version adds one elective; the program says that version appears on the transcript.
You Should Know
- Total credits are not stated outright; 12 is inferred from four 3-credit courses.
- Whether certificate credits count toward the MS is not clearly stated.
Tuition
The program says it charges by the credit hour but does not publish its own rate. The School of Graduate Studies rate for programs not listed separately is $2,384 per credit for 2026-27, which is used here.
| Item (2026-27) | Amount |
|---|---|
| Tuition per credit | $2,384 |
| Tuition maximum per term | $28,607 |
| Graduate student fees per term | $96 (student, council, transit) |
| Student medical plan per term (waivable) | $2,110 |
| MS tuition, 30 credits | $71,520 |
- Rates from Case Western’s School of Graduate Studies tuition table.
Be aware that:
- ⚠️ No informatics-specific rate is published. That this program bills at the general graduate rate is our inference; confirm with the department.
- The program offers no financial aid directly to MS students.
- Books are estimated at $86 per credit, and Cleveland living costs are extra.
For a 30-credit master’s, the price is high. It makes the most sense for students who want the technical core and research access, or who can secure employer support.
Why Choose This Health Informatics Program?
Best matched to quantitatively strong students who want AI, data science, and research training inside a medical school, in a very small cohort.
Ideal student. Someone from biology, computer science, statistics, or clinical care who wants to analyze clinical and genomic data, possibly heading toward a PhD or a research data role.
Speed. The 11-month intensive non-thesis plan is a fast route to a STEM-designated master’s, which matters for international students seeking OPT.
Limits. No online option, little management or HIM content, a short practicum, and a high per-credit price with no program aid.
Accreditation
Case Western’s informatics pages make no claim of CAHIIM accreditation, and none is assumed here.
Case Western Reserve University is institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
The MS fits Track 1 of the AMIA Health Informatics Certification, which also requires 4 years of informatics work in the past 6 at 50% or more of work time.
More Ohio Health Informatics Schools
See all Ohio health informatics programs, browse the health informatics school directory, or read the health informatics degree guide.